Tag: Belgian franc

1000 francs for the Battle of the Yser

The Belgian banknote has always been the nation’s ambassador. At its very beginning national allegories decorated the note, later on they were replaced by royals and only the latter series made room for Belgian historical or cultural figures. By doing so the iconographic field became much larger for the latter series.

Magritte for a mere 500 francs

The 500 francs Magritte type, issued 16th April 1998, was the last new note of a series that started some 147 years ago. 1998 was also the first centenary of Magritte’s birthday. To commemorate this Belgian surrealist artist the Brussels Museum of Fine Arts organised an exhibition with no less than 335 pieces out of his vast body of work.

The oldest Belgian paper money (1837-1850)

In 1830 Belgium was the most industrialised country on the continent. In the period 1830-1848 a very small number of banks financed the Belgian industrial revolution. Each of them had the right to issue paper money.

An unusual postcard

We present you a postcard depicting one of Belgium’s former finance ministers: Camille Gutt (1884-1971). Many people still remember him on account of the post World War II currency reform with which his name is linked: the Gutt operation. But that was not the only remarkable achievement in his long and full career.

1851: The first-born notes of the National Bank

Nowadays, the National Bank of Belgium is the only financial institution authorized to print banknotes in Belgium. However, this has not always been the case. During the first half of the 19th century several banks put their own notes in circulation. The Bank which was founded by law of 5 May 1850 issued its first series in 1851.

First centenary: time for innovation

The design of the euro banknotes depicts the architectural styles of seven periods in Europe’s cultural history. Compared to the former notes of the member states of the euro area which can be regarded as glorious portrait galleries, the euro notes no longer depict portraits from famous persons of the euro area. Questions that might have given rise to discussion were, amongst others: who? males? females? what nationality? In the 20th century the portrait became one of the main motifs of the Belgian notes.

The Belga

Let’s have a look at this ingenious banknote. Its designer is Constant Montald (1862-1944), a symbolistic artist, who created this banknote in 1929.

Henri Beyaert (1823-1894)

Henri Beyaert was one of the most influential architects that Belgium has ever known. With prestigious projects such as the Petit Sablon park and the Concert Noble in Brussels or Tournai station, he became decidedly famous. However, the reason for this portrait lies in his designs for the National Bank, especially the Bank’s Hotel in Brussels, the building in which the museum is housed, and the Antwerp branch of the Bank, depicted next to him on the banknote.

Tag: franc belge

L’art ou l’argent. Le monde de Jacques Charlier

L’art peut-il sauver le monde? C’est une question que des générations d’artistes, curateurs, chercheurs et spectateurs se sont maintes fois posée. En dépit de cela, la question reste sans réponse et c’est peut-être mieux ainsi. Ensor ou le sens des images semble pourtant se jouer de tout ce débat. Se peut-il que le point de vue particulier de l’artiste liégeois Jacques Charlier soit en cela à blâmer?

1000 francs pour conter la bataille de l’Yser

Dès son origine, le billet de banque joue un rôle d’ambassadeur. Dans un premier temps y figurent des allégories nationales puis, les portraits des souverains et enfin, des personnages représentatifs de l’histoire et de la culture de la Belgique. Ceci permettra un élargissement considérable du champ iconographique pour les séries suivantes.

Des Magritte pour 500 francs belges

Le billet de 500 fr type René Magritte clôture, le 16 avril 1998, 147 ans d’histoire du billet belge. Cette année-là, on commémore les 100 ans de la naissance de l’artiste surréaliste et, pour l’occasion, les Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique organisent une exposition qui regroupe pas moins de 335 de ses oeuvres.

Les plus anciens billets de banque belges (1837-1850)

En 1830, la Belgique était le pays le plus industrialisé du continent. Durant la période 1830-1848, un nombre très limité de banques financèrent la révolution industrielle belge. Chacune d’elle disposait du droit d’émission, c’est-à-dire du droit d’émettre des billets.

Une curieuse carte postale

Nous vous présentons une carte postale où l’on peut reconnaître un de nos anciens Ministres des Finances: Camille Gutt (1884-1971). Pour beaucoup, ce nom évoque l’opération ’assainissement monétaire que notre pays a connu à l’issue de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale: l’opération Gutt. Ce ne fut cependant pas le seul fait d’armes de sa longue et fructueuse carrière.

1851: la Banque nationale imprime ses premiers billets

Actuellement, la Banque nationale est la seule banque en Belgique à imprimer des billets. Cette situation, qui nous semble aller de soi, n’a, cependant, pas toujours été telle. En effet, créée seulement en 1850, la Banque nationale a mis en circulation ses premiers billets en 1851.

Le premier centenaire de la BNB: le temps du renouveau

Avec l’arrivée des billets en euro, comme chaque figure célèbre possède une nationalité précise, les portraits ont disparu des billets de banque. Des bâtiments, reflets des différents styles d’architecture connus en Europe à travers les siècles, les ont donc remplacés. Néanmoins, durant le siècle passé, le portrait s’est développé jusqu’à devenir le motif principal des billets de banque belges.

Le Belga

Penchons-nous quelques instants sur ce billet aux allures d’oeuvre d’art. L’artiste symboliste qu’est Constant Montald (1862-1944) n’en est pas à sa première collaboration avec la Banque nationale lorsqu’il réalise ce billet en 1929.

Henri Beyaert (1823-1894)

Henri Beyaert est l’un des architectes les plus influents que la Belgique ait jamais connu. Ce fut avec des projets prestigieux tels que le parc du petit Sablon, le Concert noble de Bruxelles ou encore la gare de Tournai, que Henri Beyaert acquit sa renommée. Le portrait est un hommage de la Banque nationale à son architecte pour la succursale d’Anvers qui est représentée à coté de lui sur le billet ou encore pour l’hôtel de la Banque qui abrite aujourd’hui le musée.