Tag: Belgium

The royal portrait in our wallet

Royalty are the only Belgians to have been honoured by being depicted on a coin or banknote during their lifetime, so it is high time we took a close look at the royal portrait in this edition of ‘Spotlight’.

The last series of Belgian franc banknotes

This month, the Spotlight focuses on the last series of Belgian franc banknotes. Indeed, although some people still convert euros to francs, the notes themselves often seem to have been forgotten already.

The Belgian emergency notes of World War I are now online!

The Museum of the National Bank of Belgium posesses more than 4500 originals of Belgian emergency notes of World War I . With the centenary of this conflict coming up, it has put the collection online.

Flashback to the Ghent World Fair of 1913

The collection on show in the National Bank of Belgium’s Museum not only features banknotes and coins, but also has an array of medals. To mark this year’s centenary of the 1913 Ghent World Fair, this Object of the Month focuses the spotlight on the medals that were made on the occasion of this exhibition.

Biography of a banknote

We are all very familiar with banknotes because we handle them every day. whether sitting in our pockets, tucked away in wallets or just an entry in our bank accounts, they are part of day-to-day life. But, at the end of the day, we really know very little about them. Who makes them, for instance? Who decides when and where they go into circulation? How long do they last? What happens to a banknote at the end of its life? To mark the tenth anniversary of the arrival of euro banknotes, the new “in the Spotlight” takes a look at the life of this all-too- familiar means of payment.

The sound of the Queen Elisabeth competition in our purse

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Queen Elisabeth competition, the Royal Mint is issuing a new coin of two euro. As from today it is on view in the Museum of the National Bank of Belgium.

Katanga Crosses

In June 2010 the Democratic Republic of Congo celebrated the 50th anniversary of its independence, giving us a good opportunity to bring up a very unusual object hailing from one of the country’s southern provinces, Katanga. It is the copper cross.

New 2-euro commemorative coin on display in the Museum

The theme? The Belgian presidency of the Council of the European Union.

Belgian gold in foreign hands

During the second half of the 1930s a growing threat of war was clearly felt. Hitler had come to power in 1933 and on the international level tension was building up. Belgium felt compelled to transfer most of its stocks of gold and other valuables abroad for safe keeping .

The stock market: from the ‘Ter Buerse’ inn to Wall Street

Last year the economic crisis hit us all. Stock markets, too, had a tough time. Both the American and the European markets felt the pain, and the Bel 20 index plummeted. The Fortis share, initially thought to be stable, went into free-fall. Nowadays, the stock market is a familiar concept, but where, when and how did share trading actually begin?

Tag: Belgique

Le roi à portée de main

Les monarques sont en effet les seuls Belges qui ont l’honneur de voir, de leur vivant, leur effigie sur une pièce de monnaie ou sur un billet. Rien de plus normal dès lors que de consacrer ce « Sous la loupe » à l’analyse du portrait royal.

La dernière série de billets en francs belges

Dans ce «Sous la loupe», nous mettrons en lumière la dernière série de billets en francs belges, car, même si certains d’entre nous convertissent encore en francs, les billets en eux-mêmes semblent déjà souvent oubliés.

Les billets de nécessité belges de 1914-1918 sont en ligne !

Le Musée détient plus de 4500 exemplaires des billets de nécessité belges de la Première Guerre mondiale. À l’approche du centième anniversaire du conflit, il a mis sa collection en ligne.

Rétrospective sur l’exposition universelle de Gand de 1913

La collection du Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique contient non seulement des pièces et des billets, mais aussi des médailles. Puisqu’en 2013 on fêtera le centième anniversaire de l’Exposition universelle de Gand de 1913, ce « Sous la loupe » attire l’attention sur les médailles qui furent réalisées à cette occasion.

Biographie d’un billet de Banque

Nous connaissons tous le billet de banque puisque nous le manipulons tous les jours. Qu’il traîne en poche, dans notre portefeuille ou encore sur notre compte en banque, il fait partie de notre quotidien. Mais au fond, nous savons très peu de choses de lui. Par exemple, qui le fabrique ? Qui décide de sa mise en circulation ? Quelle est sa durée de vie ? Ou encore, que devient-il ? À l’occasion du dixième anniversaire des billets européens, le nouveau « Sous la loupe » se penche sur la vie de ce moyen de paiement si familier.

Le concours Reine Elisabeth résonnera dans nos porte-monnaie

À l’occasion du 75ème anniversaire du concours Reine Elisabeth, la Monnaie royale de Belgique frappe une nouvelle pièce de 2 euros, visible dès aujourd’hui au Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique.

Les croisettes du Katanga

En juin 2010, la République Démocratique du Congo a fêté l’anniversaire de son indépendance. Nous saisissons cette occasion pour évoquer un objet particulier provenant d’une des provinces du sud de la République Démocratique du Congo, le Katanga. Il s’agit de la croisette en cuivre.

A découvrir dans les vitrines du musée: une nouvelle pièce de 2 euros

Le thème? La présidence belge du Conseil de l’Union Européenne.

L’or belge aux mains des étrangers

Lors de la seconde moitié des années 30, la menace d’une guerre était, sans cesse, grandissante. Hitler arriva au pouvoir en 1933 et cela provoqua des tensions sur le plan international.

La Bourse: de Ter Buerse à Wall Street

L’année dernière, nous avons tous été confrontés à la crise économique. Les Bourses aussi ont été malmenées. Les Bourses américaines ont souffert tout autant que les Bourses européennes, et le Bel 20 s’est effondré. L’action de Fortis, que l’on croyait pourtant stable, a fait le grand plongeon. Aujourd’hui, la Bourse nous est familière mais, au fond, où, quand et comment le marché des valeurs est-il né?