Tag: art

First centenary: time for innovation

The design of the euro banknotes depicts the architectural styles of seven periods in Europe’s cultural history. Compared to the former notes of the member states of the euro area which can be regarded as glorious portrait galleries, the euro notes no longer depict portraits from famous persons of the euro area. Questions that might have given rise to discussion were, amongst others: who? males? females? what nationality? In the 20th century the portrait became one of the main motifs of the Belgian notes.

The Compagnie des Bronzes and lighting at the Hôtel of the Governor

On 5 May 1850, King Leopold I gave royal assent to the bill providing for the creation of the National Bank. After being located initially in the rue Royale, the Bank decided in 1859 to construct its new headquarters in the rue du Bois Sauvage on the north side of the collegiate church of Saint Michael and Saint Gudula.

Victor Hugo: shareholder of the National Bank

The document which we are displaying is a letter from Victor Hugo acknowledging receipt of shares bought from the National Bank of Belgium. Victor Hugo was born at Besançon in 1802 and died in Paris in 1885 at the age of 83. He is the most important of the French romantic authors. Hugo produced a very diverse range of works, writing stories, lyrical poetry, plays in verse and prose, political speeches and a great many letters.

The zappozap: a decorative axe as a means of payment

In 1887, two years after acquiring the Congo as his personal kingdom, Leopold II signed a decree organising the currency system, and giving the Belgian franc the status of the single currency. However, the Congolese people were very reluctant to use this new coinage, and it was a long time before the standard currency became generally accepted.

Henri Beyaert (1823-1894)

Henri Beyaert was one of the most influential architects that Belgium has ever known. With prestigious projects such as the Petit Sablon park and the Concert Noble in Brussels or Tournai station, he became decidedly famous. However, the reason for this portrait lies in his designs for the National Bank, especially the Bank’s Hotel in Brussels, the building in which the museum is housed, and the Antwerp branch of the Bank, depicted next to him on the banknote.

Tag: art

Le premier centenaire de la BNB: le temps du renouveau

Avec l’arrivée des billets en euro, comme chaque figure célèbre possède une nationalité précise, les portraits ont disparu des billets de banque. Des bâtiments, reflets des différents styles d’architecture connus en Europe à travers les siècles, les ont donc remplacés. Néanmoins, durant le siècle passé, le portrait s’est développé jusqu’à devenir le motif principal des billets de banque belges.

La Compagnie des Bronzes et l’éclairage à l’Hôtel de la Banque nationale

Le 5 mai 1850, Léopold Ier signait la loi instituant la Banque nationale. D’abord implantée rue Royale, à Bruxelles, la jeune institution résolut, en 1859, de transporter son siège dans la rue du Bois Sauvage, du côté nord de la collégiale Saints-Michel-et-Gudule, et d’y faire édifier un tout nouveau bâtiment.

Victor Hugo: actionnaire de la banque nationale

Le document que nous vous présentons est une lettre de Victor Hugo qui accuse réception d’actions achetées à la Banque Nationale de Belgique. Victor Hugo est né en 1802 à Besançon et décédé en 1885 à Paris à l’âge de 83 ans. Il est le plus important des auteurs romantiques de langue française. Son œuvre est très diverse. Il a écrit des romans, de la poésie lyrique, des drames en vers et en prose, des discours politiques et il a une correspondance abondante.

Le Zappozap: Une élégante hache comme moyen de paiement

En 1887, deux ans seulement après l’acquisition du Congo, Léopold II signa un décret y organisant le système monétaire : il y instaurait le franc belge comme unité d’échange. Or, les Congolais se montrèrent relativement récalcitrants vis-à-vis de cette nouvelle monnaie ; ce qui explique d’ailleurs aisément la lenteur de l’uniformisation de celle-ci en tant que moyen d’échange.

Henri Beyaert (1823-1894)

Henri Beyaert est l’un des architectes les plus influents que la Belgique ait jamais connu. Ce fut avec des projets prestigieux tels que le parc du petit Sablon, le Concert noble de Bruxelles ou encore la gare de Tournai, que Henri Beyaert acquit sa renommée. Le portrait est un hommage de la Banque nationale à son architecte pour la succursale d’Anvers qui est représentée à coté de lui sur le billet ou encore pour l’hôtel de la Banque qui abrite aujourd’hui le musée.