Tag: euro area

The new 50 euro note is here at last!

Following the arrival of the 5, 10 and 20 euro notes from the new series, it is the turn of the 50 euro note to reach our wallets.

The new €20 banknote has arrived

There it is. A new denomination has been added to the Europa Series: € 20. Issued on the 25 November 2015, the new € 20 banknote is subject to a new display at the Museum of the National Bank of Belgium.

Belgium’s founding fathers of €urope

Since 1 January 2002, Belgium has been using a common currency now shared by eighteen other countries: the euro. The historical event marked by that date is an integral part of the history of European integration. It is thanks to the will of a few forward-looking statesmen from different countries with visions of peace and unity that the idea of a European Union could be taken forward to actually become a reality and ultimately lead to the single currency. In this month’s “Spotlight”, we take a closer look at Belgian figureheads who have played key roles – to a greater or lesser extent – in both the process of European integration and the establishment of the euro.

When Milda joins Europe

2014 wordt een memorabel jaar voor de Eurozone. Om te beginnen is het op 1 januari vijftien jaar geleden dat de euro giraal werd geïntroduceerd en twaalf jaar dat de munten en biljetten bestaan. Dit getal is symbolisch belangrijk omdat het ook om het aantal sterren gaat die afgebeeld zijn op de Europese vlag. Maar het belangrijkste getal is 18. De Eurozone verwelkomt immers zijn achttiende lidstaat: Letland.

Euro notes and coins celebrate 10 years

The date of 1 January 2002 was the day of the euro, when 12 countries began using the single currency.

Designing the Euro banknotes

Today, more than nine years after €-Day, when the fiduciary euro was put into circulation, the design of euro banknotes has been is only of secondary importance. But deciding what the new banknotes should look like was actually a very long drawn-out process.

Tere Euro!

With cries of “Tere Euro!”or “Hello Euro”, Estonia was given a hearty wecome into the European single currency club on 1 January 2011. With this move, Estonia became the seventeenth member country of the euro area. It was also the first Baltic state to meet the Maastricht criteria.

The road to the euro

The introduction of a single currency in Europe forms part of a long process of economic integration. That is nothing new. Monetary history and the currencies of the past provide us with several examples of common currencies and monetary unions.

Nový člen eurozóny (a new Euro country)

How many Euro countries are there? Twenty-seven? No, although the European Union has 27 member states since 1 January 2007, the Euro area is not that large. Twelve? Almost, that was the correct answer in 2002. Fifteen then? Until a short while ago this was correct, but we are now in 2009 and that’s the year that the Euro area welcomes its sixteenth member: Slovakia. High time to discover the newest series of Euro coins.

Cyprus and Malta join the Euro area

1 January 2008, the Euro area enlarged again as Cyprus and Malta joined the other 13 members of the euroclub. Both countries only recently joined the European Union, i.e. 1 May 2004 which means that they were very succesful in adapting their economies.