Tag: Société Générale de Belgique

Centenary of the Great War: the National Bank in wartime

This edition of ‘Spotlight’ describes what happened to the National Bank during the Great War.

The royal portrait in our wallet

Royalty are the only Belgians to have been honoured by being depicted on a coin or banknote during their lifetime, so it is high time we took a close look at the royal portrait in this edition of ‘Spotlight’.

The National Bank has had 21 governors

The person in charge of the National Bank of Belgium is called the governor. Room 1 in the museum comprises the former governor’s office, which was in use until 1953. Since the Bank was set up in 1850, 21 men have held the post of governor, and have made their mark on this institution (some more so than others). This month, the Spotlight focuses on this high office at the Bank and the men who have held it.

Herman Richir (1866-1942): a painter for the National Bank of Belgium

Last month, the Bank’s art collection acquired a new canvas signed in the name of Herman Richir (1866-1942).

The oldest Belgian paper money (1837-1850)

In 1830 Belgium was the most industrialised country on the continent. In the period 1830-1848 a very small number of banks financed the Belgian industrial revolution. Each of them had the right to issue paper money.

An unusual postcard

We present you a postcard depicting one of Belgium’s former finance ministers: Camille Gutt (1884-1971). Many people still remember him on account of the post World War II currency reform with which his name is linked: the Gutt operation. But that was not the only remarkable achievement in his long and full career.

The cradle of the European banknote stood in … Sweden

In 1654 Christina, the young Swedish queen, caused upheaval when she abdicated and became a convert to the Roman-Catholic faith. Her extravagancy and the recently ended Thirty years’ war (1618-1648) had left her country with enormous debts. To make financial matters worse, her successor and cousin, Charles X Gustavus, continued warfare with Poland and Denmark. These lasting conflicts were a serious threat to the economy and caused a depreciation of the copper plate money or kopparplätmynt.

Tag: Société Générale de Belgique

Le centenaire de la Grande Guerre: la Banque nationale en temps de guerre

Dans ce « Sous la loupe », l’accent est mis sur la façon dont la Banque nationale a réagi face à la Grande Guerre.

Le roi à portée de main

Les monarques sont en effet les seuls Belges qui ont l’honneur de voir, de leur vivant, leur effigie sur une pièce de monnaie ou sur un billet. Rien de plus normal dès lors que de consacrer ce « Sous la loupe » à l’analyse du portrait royal.

21 hommes ont gouverné la Banque nationale

Celui qui dirige la Banque nationale de Belgique porte le titre de gouverneur. La première salle du musée constitue l’ancien bureau du gouverneur, occupé jusqu’en 1953. Depuis la création de la Banque, en 1850, 21 hommes ont exercé cette fonction et ont marqué (certains plus que d’autres) leur passage dans cette institution. Le « Sous la loupe » de ce mois-ci s’arrête sur cette haute instance de la Banque et sur ces hommes qui l’ont incarnée.

Herman Richir (1866-1942) : peintre pour la Banque nationale de Belgique

Le mois dernier, la collection d’art de la Banque s’est enrichie d’une nouvelle toile signée Herman Richir (1866-1942).

Les plus anciens billets de banque belges (1837-1850)

En 1830, la Belgique était le pays le plus industrialisé du continent. Durant la période 1830-1848, un nombre très limité de banques financèrent la révolution industrielle belge. Chacune d’elle disposait du droit d’émission, c’est-à-dire du droit d’émettre des billets.

Une curieuse carte postale

Nous vous présentons une carte postale où l’on peut reconnaître un de nos anciens Ministres des Finances: Camille Gutt (1884-1971). Pour beaucoup, ce nom évoque l’opération ’assainissement monétaire que notre pays a connu à l’issue de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale: l’opération Gutt. Ce ne fut cependant pas le seul fait d’armes de sa longue et fructueuse carrière.

Le premier billet de banque européen, un produit suédois

En 1654, Christina, la jeune reine de Suède, provoqua un certain émoi lorsque, par conviction religieuse, elle s’éloigna du trône. Son style de vie extravagant et la guerre de Trente Ans qui venait de s’achever (1618-1648) avaient rendu le pays financièrement exsangue et les finances publiques allaient à vau-l’eau. Son neveu et successeur, Karl X Gustave continua à vider les caisses en menant une guerre dispendieuse contre la Pologne et le Danemark.