Tag: Second World War

Money That Goes Up In Smoke

Since being discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1492, tobacco has become a significant feature of our society. While its detrimental effects on health are now well-known, it was initially regarded as a medicine before becoming a symbol of freedom and a life style represented, for example, by the famous Marlboro cowboy. What many people don’t know is that tobacco was used as a means of payment at various times in history ….

Belgian gold in foreign hands

During the second half of the 1930s a growing threat of war was clearly felt. Hitler had come to power in 1933 and on the international level tension was building up. Belgium felt compelled to transfer most of its stocks of gold and other valuables abroad for safe keeping .

Theresienstadt: notes as a disguise of sheer misery

By the end of the Second World War the Allied Forces gradually liberated all concentration camps. Joy and gratitude coincided with a growing awareness of the havoc and devastation caused by the war. Amongst others: the genocide of the Jewish people.

An unusual postcard

We present you a postcard depicting one of Belgium’s former finance ministers: Camille Gutt (1884-1971). Many people still remember him on account of the post World War II currency reform with which his name is linked: the Gutt operation. But that was not the only remarkable achievement in his long and full career.

A Nazi Counterfeit in the National Bank

The object we present you this month is a note you would not expect in the National Bank. It is indeed the only false note in the Museum’s showcases. To understand its presence, we have to dig into Europe’s past, in the history of World War II to be precise. This note is part of one of the most important forgeries ever set up and this counterfeiting was engineered by Nazi Germany.

Tag: Deuxième Guerre mondiale

L’argent qui part en fumée

Depuis sa découverte en 1492 par Christophe Colomb, le tabac est devenu un élément important de notre société. Si ses méfaits pour la santé sont aujourd’hui bien connus, il fut d’abord considéré comme un médicament avant de devenir un symbole de liberté et d’un style de vie incarné, entre autres, par le célèbre cow-boy Marlboro. Ce que beaucoup ignorent, c’est que le tabac a également servi de moyen de paiement à différents moments de l’histoire…

L’or belge aux mains des étrangers

Lors de la seconde moitié des années 30, la menace d’une guerre était, sans cesse, grandissante. Hitler arriva au pouvoir en 1933 et cela provoqua des tensions sur le plan international.

Theresienstadt: des billets en guise de cache-misère

À la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, les troupes alliées libèrent progressivement les différents camps de concentration. Alors que l’on se réjouit de la fin de la guerre, le monde entier découvre l’ampleur des ravages qu’elle laisse derrière elle. Parmi eux: le génocide qui a visé les Juifs de tous horizons.

Une curieuse carte postale

Nous vous présentons une carte postale où l’on peut reconnaître un de nos anciens Ministres des Finances: Camille Gutt (1884-1971). Pour beaucoup, ce nom évoque l’opération ’assainissement monétaire que notre pays a connu à l’issue de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale: l’opération Gutt. Ce ne fut cependant pas le seul fait d’armes de sa longue et fructueuse carrière.

Un faux billet à la Banque nationale

L’objet que nous vous présentons ce mois-ci est un objet un peu particulier. Il s’agit en effet du seul faux billet présenté dans les vitrines du musée. Vous vous demanderez sûrement quel est l’intérêt d’exposer un faux billet, et pour le comprendre nous devrons nous plonger dans le contexte de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ce billet constitue en effet un des éléments d’une des plus vastes opérations de faux-monnayage de tous les temps, montée par l’Allemagne nazie.