Tag: Royal Mint of Belgium

Let the Games begin! New medals for the Olympic Games in Rio

2488! This is how many medals there are to win for athletes, over all disciplines, during the Olympic Games. The medals, commonly made of gold, silver or bronze, are the most sustainable ones in the Games’ history.

Belgium’s founding fathers of €urope

Since 1 January 2002, Belgium has been using a common currency now shared by eighteen other countries: the euro. The historical event marked by that date is an integral part of the history of European integration. It is thanks to the will of a few forward-looking statesmen from different countries with visions of peace and unity that the idea of a European Union could be taken forward to actually become a reality and ultimately lead to the single currency. In this month’s “Spotlight”, we take a closer look at Belgian figureheads who have played key roles – to a greater or lesser extent – in both the process of European integration and the establishment of the euro.

Invisible women: portrayal of women on Belgian banknotes

Thinking of the Belgian franc, one would most probably remember a banknote bearing the portrait of Magritte or Mercator. These historic characters acted as ambassadors for Belgium. Women were never in the running when it came to selecting people to feature on Belgian banknotes.

Coin production through the ages: casting, and manual or mechanical hammering

Coins gradually came into use for everyday transactions from 700 BC onwards. Nowadays, we cannot imagine being without them. They are recognised as a means of payment in virtually all cultures. This month we are therefore putting the “Spotlight” on coin production.

Centenary of the Great War: the National Bank in wartime

This edition of ‘Spotlight’ describes what happened to the National Bank during the Great War.

(Nederlands) Numismatische wedstrijd: Hoe beleeft u het weer?

(Nederlands) Neem deel aan de wedstrijd van de Koninklijke Munt en het KMI.

The sound of the Queen Elisabeth competition in our purse

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Queen Elisabeth competition, the Royal Mint is issuing a new coin of two euro. As from today it is on view in the Museum of the National Bank of Belgium.

The last half-franc coin

Minting coins is a royal prerogative in Belgium and that’s why it is done in the Royal Belgian Mint. So, from 1832 onwards, most coins have featured the portrait of the Belgian sovereign. But in 1952, a bronze 50-centime coin was struck on which the head of a mine worker was depicted. The miner on the half-franc coin is looking to the left and is wearing a leather helmet on his head. On the right-hand side of the coin, there is a burning coal miner’s lamp.

Each event its own coin.

Since 2004, the countries belonging to the Eurosystem have received, from the European Council, the right to mint commemorative 2€-coins, but only once a year and one per country. These coins are legal tender in the whole euro area. They are struck to commemorate historic or current events of a specific importance.

Expo ’58, the Atomium and the National Bank of Belgium

The Universal and International Exhibition – Brussels 1958, Expo ’58 for short, opened its doors 17th April north of the Brussels city centre at the Heysel plains with the Osseghem Park in the middle. Before the final closure of the gates on October, 19th almost 42 million people visited the Expo and Brussels was completely transformed.

Tag: Monnaie royale de Belgique

Place aux Jeux ! De nouvelles médailles pour les JO de Rio

2488 ! C’est le nombre de médailles que les athlètes, toutes disciplines confondues, peuvent gagner durant les Jeux Olympiques de Rio. Ces médailles, faites d’or, d’argent et de bronze, comme à l’accoutumée, sont les plus écologiques de l’histoire des Jeux.

Ces Belges qui ont fait l’€urope

Depuis le 1er janvier 2002, la Belgique utilise une monnaie unique commune à dix-huit autres pays : l’euro. Cet événement historique est irrémédiablement lié à l’histoire de la construction européenne. C’est grâce à la volonté d’hommes de différents pays aux idées pacificatrices et rassembleuses que l’idée d’une Union Européenne a pu faire son chemin jusqu’à devenir une réalité concrète et mener notamment à la monnaie unique. Dans ce Sous la loupe, nous allons en apprendre davantage sur quelques figures belges qui ont joué un rôle plus ou moins conséquent tant dans la construction européenne que dans la création de l’euro.

Les femmes invisibles: la représentation de la femme sur les billets de banque belges

Qui pense au franc belge se souvient probablement d’un billet avec le portrait de Magritte ou de Mercator. Ces personnages historiques ont servi d’ambassadeur pour la Belgique. Les femmes, quant à elles, n’entraient jamais en ligne de compte lorsqu’il s’agissait de trouver sa place sur les billets belges.

Coulées, frappées manuellement ou à l’aide d’une machine : la production de la monnaie à travers les siècles

Les pièces de monnaie se sont répandues dans le circuit commercial à partir du VIIe siècle avant J.-C. et, aujourd’hui, on ne pourrait plus s’en passer ! Elles sont reconnues comme moyen de paiement dans presque toutes les cultures. Ce mois-ci, c’est donc la frappe de la monnaie qui sera passée sous la loupe !

Le centenaire de la Grande Guerre: la Banque nationale en temps de guerre

Dans ce « Sous la loupe », l’accent est mis sur la façon dont la Banque nationale a réagi face à la Grande Guerre.

Concours numismatique: Comment vivez-vous la météo?

Participe au concours de la Monnaie royale et de l’IRM.

Le concours Reine Elisabeth résonnera dans nos porte-monnaie

À l’occasion du 75ème anniversaire du concours Reine Elisabeth, la Monnaie royale de Belgique frappe une nouvelle pièce de 2 euros, visible dès aujourd’hui au Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique.

Le dernier demi-franc

La frappe de la monnaie est, en Belgique, un privilège royal et se fait donc à la Monnaie Royale. Le monarque belge est représenté, depuis 1832, sur la plupart des pièces. C’est en 1952 que fut frappée une pièce de 50 centimes en bronze sur laquelle était représentée la tête d’un mineur. Celui-ci regarde vers la gauche et porte un casque en cuir. À droite est représentée une lampe de mineur allumée.

À chaque événement sa propre pièce

Depuis 2004, les pays membres de la zone euro ont reçu, du Conseil européen, l’autorisation de frapper une pièce commémorative, avec cours légal dans toute la zone euro, par an et par pays. Ces pièces sont destinées à commémorer des événements historiques ou actuels d’une certaine importance.

L’Expo 58, l’Atomium et la Banque nationale de Belgique

L’Expo 58, appelée officiellement Exposition Universelle et Internationale de Bruxelles, s’est tenue du 17 avril au 19 octobre 1958 sur le plateau du Heysel, au parc de Laeken, au bois d’Ossegem et au château du Belvédère. Elle a attiré près de 42 millions de visiteurs et a été le prétexte d’importants travaux dans la ville de Bruxelles.