Tag: Marcel Van Goethem

Marcel Rau: a versatile artist

Walking from Brussels Central Station to the National Bank of Belgium’s Temporary Museum, you can’t fail to notice round sculptures dotting the walls on both sides of the National Bank of Belgium’s head offices. Depicting a variety of occupations, these sculpted roundels are the work of Marcel Rau, the artist tasked with the decorative aspect of the new premises built after the Second World War.

This way to the money. Come and see the banking hall at the National Bank

Have you ever had occasion to enter the imposing banking hall at the National Bank of Belgium? Do you know what it looks like and the reasons why ordinary people go there? You go in via the main NBB entrance just a few steps away from the Temporary Museum. The time has come to devote this new edition of Spotlight to the banking hall.

Out of the attic and into the museum – showcasing our collections

Following the Museum’s temporary move to boulevard de Berlaimont, the decision was taken to showcase certain items from the collection that fit best into the new museum space or which had simply not yet been shown to the public.

Marcel Van Goethem: the National Bank’s 20th century Beyaert

As you maybe already know, a new museum will shortly be opening its doors on the boulevard de Berlaimont. February’s Spotlight/Object of the Month is therefore being dedicated to the building that will house it and to the work of its architect, Marcel Van Goethem.

The National Bank of Belgium and its modern architecture

The Brussels North-South connection is celebrating its 60th anniversary in 2012. The long-awaited railway link between the stations of Brussels South (Midi) and Brussels North was inaugurated on 4 October 1952 by the young King Baudouin. It was in this context that the National Bank had a new building constructed for its offices in the Boulevard de Berlaimont.

Tag: Marcel Van Goethem

Marcel Rau: un artiste aux multiples facettes

En accédant au Musée temporaire de la Banque nationale depuis la Gare centrale, vous ne manquerez pas de voir une série de sculptures circulaires sur la façade sud du bâtiment principal de la Banque. Sur chacune d’entre elles est représenté un métier différent. Il s’agit de l’œuvre de Marcel Rau, l’artiste responsable de l’ornementation du nouveau bâtiment qui fut érigé au sortir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Par ici la monnaie ! À la découverte de la salle des guichets de la Banque nationale

Avez-vous déjà eu l’occasion de mettre les pieds dans l’imposante salle des guichets de la Banque nationale de Belgique ? Avez-vous une idée de ce à quoi elle ressemble et des raisons pour lesquelles on s’y rend en tant que particulier ? On y accède par l’entrée principale de la BNB et elle se situe à peine à quelques pas du Musée temporaire. L’occasion est venue de lui consacrer ce nouveau Sous la Loupe.

Du grenier au musée ou la mise en valeur de nos collections

Suite au déménagement du musée boulevard de Berlaimont, il a été décidé de mettre en valeur certaines pièces de la collection s’intégrant au mieux dans le nouvel espace muséal ou n’ayant tout simplement pas encore été présentées au public.

Marcel Van Goethem ou le Beyaert du 20e siècle de la Banque nationale

Comme vous le savez peut-être déjà, un nouveau musée ouvrira bientôt ses portes au boulevard de Berlaimont. Le « Sous la loupe » du mois de février est dès lors consacré au bâtiment qui l’abritera et à l’œuvre de son architecte, Marcel Van Goethem.

La Banque nationale: une architecture moderne

En 2012, la liaison Nord-Sud de Bruxelles fête son 60ème anniversaire. L’axe tant attendu qui devait relier la gare de Bruxelles-Midi à celle du Nord a été inauguré le 4 octobre 1952 par le jeune Roi Baudouin. C’est dans ce contexte que la Banque nationale fut dotée d’un nouveau bâtiment pour ses bureaux le long du boulevard de Berlaimont.