Tag: Marcel Rau

Marcel Rau: a versatile artist

Walking from Brussels Central Station to the National Bank of Belgium’s Temporary Museum, you can’t fail to notice round sculptures dotting the walls on both sides of the National Bank of Belgium’s head offices. Depicting a variety of occupations, these sculpted roundels are the work of Marcel Rau, the artist tasked with the decorative aspect of the new premises built after the Second World War.

Humming of bees in the museum

In the next few years the National Bank building, dating from the 19th century, will undergo a major transformation.

Out of the attic and into the museum – showcasing our collections

Following the Museum’s temporary move to boulevard de Berlaimont, the decision was taken to showcase certain items from the collection that fit best into the new museum space or which had simply not yet been shown to the public.

Marcel Van Goethem: the National Bank’s 20th century Beyaert

As you maybe already know, a new museum will shortly be opening its doors on the boulevard de Berlaimont. February’s Spotlight/Object of the Month is therefore being dedicated to the building that will house it and to the work of its architect, Marcel Van Goethem.

The last half-franc coin

Minting coins is a royal prerogative in Belgium and that’s why it is done in the Royal Belgian Mint. So, from 1832 onwards, most coins have featured the portrait of the Belgian sovereign. But in 1952, a bronze 50-centime coin was struck on which the head of a mine worker was depicted. The miner on the half-franc coin is looking to the left and is wearing a leather helmet on his head. On the right-hand side of the coin, there is a burning coal miner’s lamp.

Tag: Marcel Rau

Marcel Rau: un artiste aux multiples facettes

En accédant au Musée temporaire de la Banque nationale depuis la Gare centrale, vous ne manquerez pas de voir une série de sculptures circulaires sur la façade sud du bâtiment principal de la Banque. Sur chacune d’entre elles est représenté un métier différent. Il s’agit de l’œuvre de Marcel Rau, l’artiste responsable de l’ornementation du nouveau bâtiment qui fut érigé au sortir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Bourdonnement d’abeilles dans le musée

Le bâtiment de la Banque nationale datant du 19e siècle, sera, dans les prochaines années, sérieusement transformé.

Du grenier au musée ou la mise en valeur de nos collections

Suite au déménagement du musée boulevard de Berlaimont, il a été décidé de mettre en valeur certaines pièces de la collection s’intégrant au mieux dans le nouvel espace muséal ou n’ayant tout simplement pas encore été présentées au public.

Marcel Van Goethem ou le Beyaert du 20e siècle de la Banque nationale

Comme vous le savez peut-être déjà, un nouveau musée ouvrira bientôt ses portes au boulevard de Berlaimont. Le « Sous la loupe » du mois de février est dès lors consacré au bâtiment qui l’abritera et à l’œuvre de son architecte, Marcel Van Goethem.

Le dernier demi-franc

La frappe de la monnaie est, en Belgique, un privilège royal et se fait donc à la Monnaie Royale. Le monarque belge est représenté, depuis 1832, sur la plupart des pièces. C’est en 1952 que fut frappée une pièce de 50 centimes en bronze sur laquelle était représentée la tête d’un mineur. Celui-ci regarde vers la gauche et porte un casque en cuir. À droite est représentée une lampe de mineur allumée.