Tag: Belgian franc

Marcel Rau: a versatile artist

Walking from Brussels Central Station to the National Bank of Belgium’s Temporary Museum, you can’t fail to notice round sculptures dotting the walls on both sides of the National Bank of Belgium’s head offices. Depicting a variety of occupations, these sculpted roundels are the work of Marcel Rau, the artist tasked with the decorative aspect of the new premises built after the Second World War.

Draw me a banknote!

Nowadays, it is the design that makes up the best part of our paper money. But what exactly is hidden behind the design of banknotes? On the basis of what criteria were artists or graphic designers selected and what did their work involve? Let’s try and find some answers to these questions in this Object of the Month…

Invisible women: portrayal of women on Belgian banknotes

Thinking of the Belgian franc, one would most probably remember a banknote bearing the portrait of Magritte or Mercator. These historic characters acted as ambassadors for Belgium. Women were never in the running when it came to selecting people to feature on Belgian banknotes.

Centenary of the Great War: the National Bank in wartime

This edition of ‘Spotlight’ describes what happened to the National Bank during the Great War.

The royal portrait in our wallet

Royalty are the only Belgians to have been honoured by being depicted on a coin or banknote during their lifetime, so it is high time we took a close look at the royal portrait in this edition of ‘Spotlight’.

The last series of Belgian franc banknotes

This month, the Spotlight focuses on the last series of Belgian franc banknotes. Indeed, although some people still convert euros to francs, the notes themselves often seem to have been forgotten already.

The Dynasty series of Belgian franc notes

For the month of November, this latest edition of the Museum’s Object of the Month turns its attention to a very specific series of Belgian banknotes: the Dynasty series, issued just after the Second World War.

The last half-franc coin

Minting coins is a royal prerogative in Belgium and that’s why it is done in the Royal Belgian Mint. So, from 1832 onwards, most coins have featured the portrait of the Belgian sovereign. But in 1952, a bronze 50-centime coin was struck on which the head of a mine worker was depicted. The miner on the half-franc coin is looking to the left and is wearing a leather helmet on his head. On the right-hand side of the coin, there is a burning coal miner’s lamp.

Margaret of Austria, a woman who managed to play a political role

Only one female personality was selected to appear on a banknote: Margaret of Austria was depicted on the back of the 500 franc note featuring Bernard (or Barend) Van Orley. She was therefore carefully chosen.

Art or money. The world of Jacques Charlier.

Can art save the world? This is a question which already made many generations of artists, curators and spectators think deep. The question stayed in spite of all this attention unanswered, and maybe it is even better so. Ensor ou le sens des images makes however, as it seems, fun of this whole discussion. Is it possible that the specific view of the Liegois artist Jacques Charlier is to blame?

Tag: franc belge

Le Musée s’expose chez Muntpunt !

Du mardi 28 mars au vendredi 14 avril 2017, vous pourrez retrouver quelques objets provenant des collections du Musée de la Banque nationale à Muntpunt.

Marcel Rau: un artiste aux multiples facettes

En accédant au Musée temporaire de la Banque nationale depuis la Gare centrale, vous ne manquerez pas de voir une série de sculptures circulaires sur la façade sud du bâtiment principal de la Banque. Sur chacune d’entre elles est représenté un métier différent. Il s’agit de l’œuvre de Marcel Rau, l’artiste responsable de l’ornementation du nouveau bâtiment qui fut érigé au sortir de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Dessine-moi un billet

Le dessin occupe actuellement une place prépondérante sur notre papier monnaie. Mais, qui se cache derrière la conception des billets de banque ? Sur quels critères les artistes ou graphistes sont-ils sélectionnés et en quoi consiste leur travail ? Partez à la découverte de ce nouveau Sous la loupe pour trouver réponse à ces questions…

Les femmes invisibles: la représentation de la femme sur les billets de banque belges

Qui pense au franc belge se souvient probablement d’un billet avec le portrait de Magritte ou de Mercator. Ces personnages historiques ont servi d’ambassadeur pour la Belgique. Les femmes, quant à elles, n’entraient jamais en ligne de compte lorsqu’il s’agissait de trouver sa place sur les billets belges.

Le centenaire de la Grande Guerre: la Banque nationale en temps de guerre

Dans ce « Sous la loupe », l’accent est mis sur la façon dont la Banque nationale a réagi face à la Grande Guerre.

Le roi à portée de main

Les monarques sont en effet les seuls Belges qui ont l’honneur de voir, de leur vivant, leur effigie sur une pièce de monnaie ou sur un billet. Rien de plus normal dès lors que de consacrer ce « Sous la loupe » à l’analyse du portrait royal.

La dernière série de billets en francs belges

Dans ce «Sous la loupe», nous mettrons en lumière la dernière série de billets en francs belges, car, même si certains d’entre nous convertissent encore en francs, les billets en eux-mêmes semblent déjà souvent oubliés.

La série Dynastie des billets en francs belges

Pour ce mois de novembre, l’attention de ce nouveau numéro du “Sous la loupe” se portera sur une série de billets belges très spécifique : la série Dynastie, émise juste après la Seconde Guerre mondiale.

Le dernier demi-franc

La frappe de la monnaie est, en Belgique, un privilège royal et se fait donc à la Monnaie Royale. Le monarque belge est représenté, depuis 1832, sur la plupart des pièces. C’est en 1952 que fut frappée une pièce de 50 centimes en bronze sur laquelle était représentée la tête d’un mineur. Celui-ci regarde vers la gauche et porte un casque en cuir. À droite est représentée une lampe de mineur allumée.

Marguerite d’Autriche – une femme d’exception

Un seul personnage féminin est apparu sur un billet: Marguerite d’Autriche, au verso d’un billet de 500 francs consacré à Bernard (ou Barend) van Orley. C’était une femme d’exception.