Tag: European Union

Europe Day, 6 May 2017

This Saturday 6th May, the European quarter will be celebrated. On the occasion of the Europe day, the EU institutions in Brussels open their doors to the public.

Celebrating Europe Day, 28 May 2016

The Museum of the National Bank will participate in Europe Day 2016.

Belgium’s founding fathers of €urope

Since 1 January 2002, Belgium has been using a common currency now shared by eighteen other countries: the euro. The historical event marked by that date is an integral part of the history of European integration. It is thanks to the will of a few forward-looking statesmen from different countries with visions of peace and unity that the idea of a European Union could be taken forward to actually become a reality and ultimately lead to the single currency. In this month’s “Spotlight”, we take a closer look at Belgian figureheads who have played key roles – to a greater or lesser extent – in both the process of European integration and the establishment of the euro.

The Open Day of the European Council and the Council of the European Union, 7 May 2011

The Museum of the National Bank will participate in the Open Day of the European Council and the Council of the European Union. On the eve of Europe Day, which is celebrated each year to mark the anniversary of the 1950 Schuman Declaration, we invite you to come and see for yourself what the Eurosystem does.

The road to the euro

The introduction of a single currency in Europe forms part of a long process of economic integration. That is nothing new. Monetary history and the currencies of the past provide us with several examples of common currencies and monetary unions.

New 2-euro commemorative coin on display in the Museum

The theme? The Belgian presidency of the Council of the European Union.

Each event its own coin.

Since 2004, the countries belonging to the Eurosystem have received, from the European Council, the right to mint commemorative 2€-coins, but only once a year and one per country. These coins are legal tender in the whole euro area. They are struck to commemorate historic or current events of a specific importance.

Eurocompetition

The contest Eurocompetition, organised by the European Commission, has been held from September to December 2008. Its aim? To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the euro and the Economic and Monetary Union.

The Open Day of the Council of the European Union, 9 May 2009

The Museum of the National Bank will participate in the Open Day of the Council of the European Union. On the occasion of Europe Day, which is celebrated each year to mark the anniversary of the 1950 Schuman Declaration, we invite you to come and see for yourself what the Eurosystem does.

The Treaties of Rome

“25 March 1957… this will be one of the greatest dates in European history …”
Those were the words pronounced by Paul-Henri Spaak at the time of the signing of the Treaties in Rome by the countries forming the Europe of the Six (France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxemburg). The Treaties were an important step towards the unification of Europe.

Tag: Union européenne

Journée de l’Europe, 6 mai 2017

Ce 6 mai, le quartier européen est en fête ! À l’occasion de la journée de l’Europe, toutes les institutions européennes installées à Bruxelles ouvrent leurs portes. Différentes activités y sont organisées, comme des débats variés et des visites guidées des bâtiments. Ne manquez pas l’ouverture de la Maison de l’histoire européenne et allez voir […]

Célébration de la Journée de l’Europe, 28 mai 2016

Le Musée de la Banque nationale participe à la Journée de l’Europe 2016.

Ces Belges qui ont fait l’€urope

Depuis le 1er janvier 2002, la Belgique utilise une monnaie unique commune à dix-huit autres pays : l’euro. Cet événement historique est irrémédiablement lié à l’histoire de la construction européenne. C’est grâce à la volonté d’hommes de différents pays aux idées pacificatrices et rassembleuses que l’idée d’une Union Européenne a pu faire son chemin jusqu’à devenir une réalité concrète et mener notamment à la monnaie unique. Dans ce Sous la loupe, nous allons en apprendre davantage sur quelques figures belges qui ont joué un rôle plus ou moins conséquent tant dans la construction européenne que dans la création de l’euro.

Journée portes ouvertes du Conseil européen et du Conseil de l’Union européenne, 7 mai 2011

Le Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique sera présent à la Journée portes ouvertes du Conseil européen et du Conseil de l’Union européenne. À la veille de la Journée de l’Europe, célébrée chaque année pour commémorer l’anniversaire de la Déclaration Schuman de 1950, nous vous invitons à venir découvrir l’Eurosystème.

Le cheminement vers l’euro

La mise en circulation d’une monnaie unique en Europe s’inscrit dans un long processus d’intégration économique. Celle-ci n’est pas un phénomène nouveau. L’histoire monétaire et les monnaies du passé nous font connaître plusieurs exemples de monnaies communes et d’unions monétaires.

A découvrir dans les vitrines du musée: une nouvelle pièce de 2 euros

Le thème? La présidence belge du Conseil de l’Union Européenne.

À chaque événement sa propre pièce

Depuis 2004, les pays membres de la zone euro ont reçu, du Conseil européen, l’autorisation de frapper une pièce commémorative, avec cours légal dans toute la zone euro, par an et par pays. Ces pièces sont destinées à commémorer des événements historiques ou actuels d’une certaine importance.

Eurocompetition

Le concours Eurocompetition, organisé à l’initiative de la Commission Européenne, s’est tenu de septembre à décembre 2008. Son but? Célébrer le 10e anniversaire de l’euro et de l’Union Economique et Monétaire.

Journée portes ouvertes du Conseil de l’Union européenne, le 9 mai 2009

Le Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique sera présent à la Journée portes ouvertes du Conseil de l’Union européenne. A l’occasion de la Journée de l’Europe, célébrée chaque année pour commémorer l’anniversaire de la Déclaration Schuman de 1950, nous vous invitons à venir découvrir l’Eurosystème.

Les Traités de Rome

“Le 25 mars 1957… ce sera une des plus grandes dates de l’histoire de l’Europe…”
Ce furent les mots prononcés par Paul-Henri Spaak au moment de la signature des traités à Rome par les pays de la petite Europe (France, Allemagne, Italie, Belgique, Pays-Bas, Luxembourg). Ceux-ci marquent un grand pas pour l’unification de l’Europe.