Tag: economic crisis

The University of Maastricht visits the Museum

As part of the ‘Financial Market Reform in the European Union’ summer program, organized by the University of Maastricht, the Museum welcomed prof. David Cleeton, expert authority in Political Economy of the European Union of Illinois State University, and his students.

Money That Goes Up In Smoke

Since being discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1492, tobacco has become a significant feature of our society. While its detrimental effects on health are now well-known, it was initially regarded as a medicine before becoming a symbol of freedom and a life style represented, for example, by the famous Marlboro cowboy. What many people don’t know is that tobacco was used as a means of payment at various times in history ….

10 answers on the economic crisis in Europe: new publication from the European Commission.

This teaching booklet, designed for 17 year olds and more, tackles some often complex economic concepts in ten questions.

Key dates of the financial crisis (since December 2005)

Interested in finding out more about the worldwide economic and financial crisis?

Assignats: currency from the French Revolution

It’s written in the history book: printing more money has never solved an economic crisis.

John Law: Financial genius or charlatan?

In the National Bank’s museum there are two old banknotes: paper inscribed with black letters and numbers on a simple white background. Made by the Imprimerie Royale, watermarked Billet de Banque.

Everybody a billionaire?!

The Museum of the National Bank of Belgium has several inflationary notes on display. The most remarkable ones are the 500 billion dinar note of former Yugoslavia and that of 1 million trillion Hungarian pengö (or 1 followed by 18 noughts!).

Tag: crise économique

L’Université de Maastricht en visite au Musée

Dans le cadre du programme d’été “Financial Market Reform in the European Union” organisé par l’Université de Maastricht, le Musée a accueilli la classe du professeur David Cleeton, spécialiste de la politique économique de l’Union européenne à l’Université d’État de l’Illinois.

L’argent qui part en fumée

Depuis sa découverte en 1492 par Christophe Colomb, le tabac est devenu un élément important de notre société. Si ses méfaits pour la santé sont aujourd’hui bien connus, il fut d’abord considéré comme un médicament avant de devenir un symbole de liberté et d’un style de vie incarné, entre autres, par le célèbre cow-boy Marlboro. Ce que beaucoup ignorent, c’est que le tabac a également servi de moyen de paiement à différents moments de l’histoire…

10 réponses sur la crise économique en Europe. Nouvelle publication de la Commission européenne.

Ce dossier pédagogique, destiné au 3ème cycle de l’enseignement secondaire supérieur, aborde en 10 questions des concepts économiques souvent complexes.

Dates clés de la crise financière (depuis décembre 2005)

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la crise économique et financière mondiale ?

Les assignats : monnaie de la Révolution française

L’histoire le sait : faire tourner la planche à billets n’a jamais solutionné une crise économique.

John Law: Génie financier ou charlatan ?

Le musée de la Banque nationale possède deux billets anciens, deux morceaux de papier gravé portant des lettres et des chiffres noirs sur un simple fond blanc, imprimés à l’Imprimerie royale, et sur lesquels figure en filigrane la mention « Billet de Banque ».

Tous milliardaires?!

Au Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique, on peut voir plusieurs billets dits “d’inflation”. Les plus remarquables d’entre eux sont le billet de 500 milliards de dinars et celui d’un million de billion de pengo hongrois (1.000.000.000.000.000.000 pengo !).