Tag: Early modern period

The Carolus guilder: an imperial coin

Charles V, the Holy Roman Emperor, was born in Ghent in 1500. His almost legendary reputation is due to the statement that in his empire the sun never set. Charles V ruled over the Burgundian Netherlands, he was King of Spain (and Spain’s overseas colonies) and he was also the ruler of the Holy Roman Empire. During his reign the economy flourished. Herman van der Wee even talks of the emergence of a global economy led by Europe in the 16th century. It is therefore no coincidence that Charles V laid some of the foundations for the modern coinage.

The Robustus

The Antwerp Robustus daalder, dating from 1584, is an emergency coin which illustrates the difficult situation then facing the city on the River Scheldt. In the 16th century, Protestantism was spreading rapidly in the Netherlands. However, the regions which had gone over to the reformed church very soon clashed head-on with the Catholic Spanish ruler.

Margaret of Austria, a woman who managed to play a political role

Only one female personality was selected to appear on a banknote: Margaret of Austria was depicted on the back of the 500 franc note featuring Bernard (or Barend) Van Orley. She was therefore carefully chosen.

The cradle of the European banknote stood in … Sweden

In 1654 Christina, the young Swedish queen, caused upheaval when she abdicated and became a convert to the Roman-Catholic faith. Her extravagancy and the recently ended Thirty years’ war (1618-1648) had left her country with enormous debts. To make financial matters worse, her successor and cousin, Charles X Gustavus, continued warfare with Poland and Denmark. These lasting conflicts were a serious threat to the economy and caused a depreciation of the copper plate money or kopparplätmynt.

Money, source of vanity: a pictorial warning

Frans Francken II, a talented Flemish painter (Antwerp, 1581-1642) who ran an important workshop in his hometown, belonged to an artistic family. Both his father and his son were painters as well, although he was the most productive and the best known of the Francken dynasty.

The patagon

Perhaps on Newyear’s Day, after having read out loud your letter with Season’s greetings, you have received a currant loaf or other type of sweet bread, which is called ‘zoetekoek’, ‘krolleman’ or kramiek’ in several regions of Flanders. Some of these delicious breads are decorated with a painted clay pipe disk. Not only these party breads but also the disks are known by different names such as ‘patacon’, ‘schild’ (shield or ecu), ‘maan’ (moon), ‘rondelle’ (slice), …

An Antwerp double ducaton issued by Albrecht and Isabella (1618)

The 17th century got off to an auspicious start for the Antwerp mint. Following the death of Philip II, the Southern Netherlands came into the hands of Philip’s daughter Isabella and her fiancé and later husband, the Austrian Archduke Albrecht.

Tag: Temps modernes

Le florin Carolus : une monnaie impériale

L’empereur Charles Quint ou Charles V est né en 1500 à Gand. Il doit sa réputation presque légendaire au fait que le soleil ne se couchait jamais sur son empire. Charles Quint était à la fois souverain des Pays-Bas, roi d’Espagne (et par conséquent des colonies d’outre-mer) ainsi qu’empereur du Saint-Empire romain germanique. Son règne fut marqué par le développement de l’économie à tel point qu’Herman van der Wee situe la naissance de l’économie mondiale dans l’Europe du XVIe siècle. Ce n’est donc pas par hasard que Charles Quint posa les fondations de la monnaie moderne.

Le Robustus

Le daldre anversois dit «Robustus» de 1584 est une monnaie de nécessité qui illustre la situation difficile dans laquelle se trouvait Anvers à cette époque. L’essor du protestantisme fut très important aux Pays-Bas durant le 16e siècle. Les territoires réformés se heurtèrent cependant rapidement à l’oppresseur catholique espagnol.

Marguerite d’Autriche – une femme d’exception

Un seul personnage féminin est apparu sur un billet: Marguerite d’Autriche, au verso d’un billet de 500 francs consacré à Bernard (ou Barend) van Orley. C’était une femme d’exception.

Le premier billet de banque européen, un produit suédois

En 1654, Christina, la jeune reine de Suède, provoqua un certain émoi lorsque, par conviction religieuse, elle s’éloigna du trône. Son style de vie extravagant et la guerre de Trente Ans qui venait de s’achever (1618-1648) avaient rendu le pays financièrement exsangue et les finances publiques allaient à vau-l’eau. Son neveu et successeur, Karl X Gustave continua à vider les caisses en menant une guerre dispendieuse contre la Pologne et le Danemark.

L’argent comme source de vanité: une mise en garde en image

Peintre flamand de grand talent, Frans Franken II (Anvers, 1581-1642), fils de Frans I et père de Frans III, semble avoir dirigé un important atelier à Anvers. Il est le plus connu et le plus productif de la dynastie des Franken.

Le Patagon

Outre le fait d’émarger au catalogue bien connu des invectives du capitaine Haddock, le mot patagon évoque également les petits disques en céramique qui ornent les cougnous ou autres cramiques traditionnellement servis aux fêtes de fin d’année dans certaines régions de Flandre. Selon l’endroit, ils portent le nom de « patacon », « schild » (écu), « plak » (plaquette, rondelle) ou encore « maan » (lune).

Un double ducaton anversois d’Albert et Isabelle (1618)

Aux Pays-Bas espagnols, sous Philippe II (1555-1598) il n’y avait ni organisation, ni stabilité du système monétaire. Il existait, en effet, une grande diversité de pièces pas seulement émises par le roi mais aussi par différentes communes et régions. Il en résultait incohérence, inégalités et fraudes.