Tag: Asia

Five pigs? One drum, please!

The National Bank Museum has two drums in its collection. Acquired from South-East Asia, the objects were regarded by some indigenous communities as the most highly valued means of payment.

Chinese Metallic Money and Cash

Chinese monetary history is a topic that requires readers to leave behind certain concepts that have characterised our money for some time.

Tea: not only a drink, but also a means of payment

Nowadays, commercial transactions are standardized. We pay for goods and services either with coins, notes, electronic or bank money. Nevertheless this has not always been the case.

Paper money, a Chinese invention?

First paper, then paper money. This is pure logic. It is hardly surprising that the first notes or better, the first paper money, appeared in China. With the invention of paper and printing on its account, this country was almost destined to produce the first paper money.

Salt, the white gold?

Today, we use salt to season food, for instance on French fries. But do you know that throughout history salt was used on a far more larger scale than nowadays? And that it was a common means of payment?

Cowry Shells, a trade currency

The Museum of the National Bank is probably not the first thing that crosses your mind when you are talking about shells. And yet, apart from a large number of coins and banknotes it also possesses a nice collection of primitive means of payments. Within this category of traditional money the cowry shell is one the […]

Tag: Asie

Cinq cochons? Un tambour s’il vous plaît!

Le Musée de la Banque nationale possède deux tambours dans sa collection. Ceux-ci proviennent de l’Asie du sud-est et étaient, pour certaines populations indigènes, le moyen de paiement ayant le plus de valeur.

La monnaie métallique chinoise et le Cash

Aborder l’histoire monétaire chinoise impose au lecteur de s’éloigner des concepts qui ont caractérisé notre monnaie pendant longtemps.

Le thé, une boisson, mais aussi une monnaie

De nos jours les transactions se sont standardisées, on paye les biens et services soit en monnaies dites métalliques, fiduciaires, scripturales ou encore électroniques, mais il n’en a pas toujours été ainsi.

Le billet, une invention chinoise?

Pas de billet sans papier! Cela semble évident, et il n’est dès lors pas étonnant que le billet, ou plus exactement le papier-monnaie, fit sa toute première apparition en Chine, puisque ce sont les chinois eux-mêmes qui furent les premiers à inventer… le papier! Et non seulement ils inventèrent le papier, mais ils créèrent également l’impression. La Chine avait ainsi une prédisposition considérable à utiliser pour la première fois du papier-monnaie.

Le sel, l’or blanc?

Aujourd’hui nous utilisons le sel pour assaisonner nos repas, par exemple sur un bon cornet de frites. Mais savez-vous que, pendant de nombreux siècles, ce condiment a tenu une place beaucoup plus prépondérante que de nos jours? Et qu’il a même été utilisé comme moyen de paiement?

Une monnaie singulière, le cauri

Le Musée de la Banque nationale n’est sans doute pas le premier lieu auquel on pense lorsqu’on évoque les cauris. Et pourtant, outre sa remarquable collection de pièces et billets, le musée possède également un grand nombre de monnaies-marchandise parmi lesquelles les cauris se taillent une part importante. Dès avant notre ère, ces coquillages ont servi […]