Tag: 2 euro commemorative coin

Let the Games begin! New medals for the Olympic Games in Rio

2488! This is how many medals there are to win for athletes, over all disciplines, during the Olympic Games. The medals, commonly made of gold, silver or bronze, are the most sustainable ones in the Games’ history.

Invisible women: portrayal of women on Belgian banknotes

Thinking of the Belgian franc, one would most probably remember a banknote bearing the portrait of Magritte or Mercator. These historic characters acted as ambassadors for Belgium. Women were never in the running when it came to selecting people to feature on Belgian banknotes.

New 2-euro coin on display in the museum

The newest Belgian € 2 commemorative coin is dedicated to the centenary of the start of the First World War. As of today, the coin is on display in the National Bank of Belgium’s temporary Museum.

The sound of the Queen Elisabeth competition in our purse

To commemorate the 75th anniversary of the Queen Elisabeth competition, the Royal Mint is issuing a new coin of two euro. As from today it is on view in the Museum of the National Bank of Belgium.

Euro notes and coins celebrate 10 years

The date of 1 January 2002 was the day of the euro, when 12 countries began using the single currency.

New 2-euro commemorative coin on display in the Museum

The newest 2-euro commemorative coin commemorates ten years of euro banknotes and coins (2002 – 2012).

Each event its own coin.

Since 2004, the countries belonging to the Eurosystem have received, from the European Council, the right to mint commemorative 2€-coins, but only once a year and one per country. These coins are legal tender in the whole euro area. They are struck to commemorate historic or current events of a specific importance.

The Treaties of Rome

“25 March 1957… this will be one of the greatest dates in European history …”
Those were the words pronounced by Paul-Henri Spaak at the time of the signing of the Treaties in Rome by the countries forming the Europe of the Six (France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxemburg). The Treaties were an important step towards the unification of Europe.

Tag: Pièce commémorative de 2 euros

Place aux Jeux ! De nouvelles médailles pour les JO de Rio

2488 ! C’est le nombre de médailles que les athlètes, toutes disciplines confondues, peuvent gagner durant les Jeux Olympiques de Rio. Ces médailles, faites d’or, d’argent et de bronze, comme à l’accoutumée, sont les plus écologiques de l’histoire des Jeux.

Les femmes invisibles: la représentation de la femme sur les billets de banque belges

Qui pense au franc belge se souvient probablement d’un billet avec le portrait de Magritte ou de Mercator. Ces personnages historiques ont servi d’ambassadeur pour la Belgique. Les femmes, quant à elles, n’entraient jamais en ligne de compte lorsqu’il s’agissait de trouver sa place sur les billets belges.

La nouvelle pièce de deux euros exposée au Musée

La nouvelle pièce belge de deux euros commémore le 100e anniversaire du début de la Première Guerre mondiale. Elle est exposée à partir d’aujourd’hui au Musée temporaire de la Banque nationale de Belgique.

Le concours Reine Elisabeth résonnera dans nos porte-monnaie

À l’occasion du 75ème anniversaire du concours Reine Elisabeth, la Monnaie royale de Belgique frappe une nouvelle pièce de 2 euros, visible dès aujourd’hui au Musée de la Banque nationale de Belgique.

Les pièces et billets en euros ont 10 ans

Le 1er janvier 2002 en effet, jour qui est aussi appelé le jour de l’euro, douze pays accueillaient la monnaie unique.

À découvrir dans les vitrines du Musée: une nouvelle pièce de 2 euros

À l’occasion du dixième anniversaire des billets et des pièces en euro, une nouvelle pièce commémorative est mise en circulation. Elle se trouve bien évidemment dans notre musée.

À chaque événement sa propre pièce

Depuis 2004, les pays membres de la zone euro ont reçu, du Conseil européen, l’autorisation de frapper une pièce commémorative, avec cours légal dans toute la zone euro, par an et par pays. Ces pièces sont destinées à commémorer des événements historiques ou actuels d’une certaine importance.

Les Traités de Rome

“Le 25 mars 1957… ce sera une des plus grandes dates de l’histoire de l’Europe…”
Ce furent les mots prononcés par Paul-Henri Spaak au moment de la signature des traités à Rome par les pays de la petite Europe (France, Allemagne, Italie, Belgique, Pays-Bas, Luxembourg). Ceux-ci marquent un grand pas pour l’unification de l’Europe.