Chained euros

In the national accounts statistical system, various economic aggregates (such as GDP, investment, household consumption, for instance) are calculated so that changes in value terms can be divided up into a factor that reflects the underlying price changes and a factor which reflects the volume changes. As a result of this sub-division, one can get an idea of how these aggregates develop after adjustment for price changes.

In order to measure the volume growth of GDP and its components, it is therefore necessary to remove the effect of price changes from the changes in value, by keeping prices “constant” as it were. Up until the introduction of chained euros in 2006, this was done on the basis of a “fixed base year”, whereby the information on prices was used so as to compile volume accounts at as detailed a level as possible. Since the relative prices of the base year become less and less relevant as time goes by, the potential distortion in the growth of an aggregate for a given year increases as this year moves further away from the base year. So, in the past, a more recent base year has been chosen every five years for the national accounts. Experience in various countries has nevertheless shown that, in the case of rapidly changing relative prices, the system of a five-yearly update of the base year is inadequate for measuring recent economic growth rates. In the European Union, it was therefore decided to switch over to an annual review of the reference year. The annual update of the price structure, used for calculating the aggregates in volume terms, is tantamount to calculating growth at “chained volume measures”.

By applying chained indices, the volume growth between two consecutive periods, t and t+1, is calculcated using year t’s prices. In this way, volume growth of investment in real (volume) terms between years 1 and 2, for example, is calculated by comparing investment in year 2 expressed in year 1’s prices with investment in year 1. Growth between years 2 and 3 is calculated by comparing investment in year 3 expressed in year 2’s prices with investment in year 2, and so on. The changes between consecutive periods are ‘linked’ together (cumulated) to give a chained index. When the chained index is then finally applied to the values of an aggregate of a selected “reference year”, one obtains a volume series in “chained euros”. Generally speaking, the reference year is changed annually, but some countries do this only once every five years. The choice of the reference year has no influence on the growth profile of the series.

The introduction of chained indices improves the accuracy of the measure of economic growth and results in better international comparability. Accurate volume measurement in the national accounts is important for establishing growth of GDP and its components, as an input for various economic studies investigating the structure and development of the economy in real terms, and as an input for measuring productivity.

Euros chaînés

Dans le système statistique des comptes nationaux, on procède au calcul de divers agrégats économiques (tels que le PIB, les investissements ou la consommation des ménages) dont l’évolution en valeur peut être répartie en deux facteurs, l’un traduisant les modifications de prix sous-jacentes et l’autre reflétant les variations en volume. Cette subdivision permet d’obtenir un aperçu de l’évolution de ces agrégats corrigée des variations de prix.

Afin de mesurer l’évolution en volume du PIB et de ses composants, il convient donc d’éliminer de la variation en valeur l’effet des modifications de prix en maintenant ceux-ci “constants”. Avant l’introduction des euros chaînés en 2006, on fixait, pour ce faire, une année de base dont les informations relatives aux prix servaient à calculer les évolutions en volume au niveau le plus détaillé possible. Étant donné que, au fil du temps, les prix relatifs de l’année de base deviennent de moins en moins pertinents, la distorsion potentielle de la croissance d’un agrégat calculé pour une année donnée est d’autant plus grande que cette année est éloignée de l’année de référence. C’est pourquoi, dans les comptes nationaux, une nouvelle année était, par le passé, redéfinie tous les cinq ans. L’expérience dans différents pays a toutefois démontré qu’en présence de modifications rapides des prix relatifs, la procédure d’adaptation quinquennale de l’année de base est insuffisante pour mesurer les évolutions récentes de la croissance économique. Aussi a-t-il été décidé au niveau de l’Union européenne de passer à une mise à jour annuelle de l’année de base. Cette actualisation annuelle de la structure des prix, utilisée pour le calcul d’agrégats en volume, revient à mesurer la croissance en “mesure de volumes en chaîne”.

En recourant à des indices chaînés, la croissance en volume entre deux périodes successives, t et t+1, est calculée en se référant aux prix de l’année t. Par exemple, la croissance en volume des investissements entre les années 1 et 2 est obtenue en comparant les investissements de l’année 2 exprimés aux prix de l’année 1 à ceux de l’année 1. La croissance entre les années 2 et 3 est déterminée en comparant les investissements de l’année 3 exprimés aux prix de l’année 2 à ceux de l’année 2, etc. Les évolutions entre les périodes successives sont liées entre elles (cumulées) pour parvenir à un indice chaîné. Lorsque ce dernier est appliqué aux valeurs d’un agrégat d’une “année de référence”, on obtient une série en volume en “euros chaînés”. L’année de référence est généralement modifiée chaque année, mais certains pays ne le font que tous les cinq ans. Le choix de l’année de référence est sans effet sur le profil de croissance de la série.  

L’introduction des indices chaînés améliore la précision de la mesure de la croissance économique et augmente la comparabilité internationale des données. Une mesure précise en volume est importante au niveau des comptes nationaux pour connaître la croissance du PIB et de ses composantes, contribuer à diverses études économiques examinant la structure et l’évolution de l’économie en termes réels et mesurer la productivité.